Wednesday, 21 November 2012

in the begining

Dh and i got together age 16. We stayed together through school, college, university and whilst working in sometimes awful jobs (him in a slaughter house me in a freezing cold veg factory) we managed to save money to put a deposit down on our first home. 

Whilst i was at university i had three jobs plus studid a full time course in community studies alot of my friends on my course where mature students and nobody had any money.

In 2004 me and dh got married and bought a three bed terraced house in lancashire.  It was a dooer upper and since then we have gutted it room by room to bring it up to speed.

In the last 8 years we have had
*full rewire
*brand new central heating throughout and a new boiler
*double glazed windows
*a fitted kitchen (back to the brick, with no kitchen for 8 weeks and two lil uns under 2)
*decorated living room, hall stairs and landing, both kids rooms and recently the porch (dusty bricks for 2 years) and now the toy room. All had new carpets.
* pointing on chimneys and new fire

Next things i need doing are the bathroom, i'm having it tiled as it gets mouldy and tiles as they are easy to clean and my bedroom. (always last lol)

Each time we have saved up and had these things done and we pay with cash.

when i graduated i first worked in a bank and i saw how much people were in debt, sometimes to the point where they couldnt understand why or how to get out of it.  Because of this i've been to scared to have a credit card or buy now pay in so many months.

We live a frugal life dh works full time and i'm a full time mum we work as a team, we run one car which dh needs for work and i don't drive so either get a bus (free bus pass) or walk.

We have three children who love nothing more than each others company and love to play games together.

I love to make things i knit and crochet, cook, bake and make jewellery.  My elder daughters also make things too.